Band Profiles

Four middleaged ugly blokes who guarantee entertainment

Moderator: Sandman

Sandman
Site Admin

Band Profiles

Post by Sandman » Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:54 am

Kevin "Big Hugs" Smith - Pots & Pans

I have been drumming since I was 6 years old. The first song I ever drummed to was Remember Your A Womble at the California Club. I went to the club with my dad and saw the drums on the stage. I asked to have a go and somehow I managed to keep a beat (first and last time!). Ever since then I have been making a racket somewhere in the house.

I stopped drumming in the early 90's to DJ, but gave this up in 1999 as it got boring and I wanted to get back into drumming. I played in various local bands until one day out of the blue I got a phone call from Cookie. The rest as they say is history. :D

At the moment I play Mapex Saturn and use Istanbul cymbals, but I like new and shiny things, so the kit won't be here long.

My drumming influences are Taylor Hawkins (Foo Fighters), Ronnie Vanucci (The Killers), Larry Mullen Jnr (U2) and Animal (The Muppets), put all these together and you get my playing style. My music is the above, plus Brett Anderson, Elvis, Green Day, Keane and The Smiths.

Somehow I have been given the nick name of "big hugs", I have no idea where that come from, as I don't get any of the hugs that come to the band (AHHHH).

My biggest regret is selling my Craviotto drum kit and not joining the Outlaws sooner.

Peace and love/keep it real/woo woo woo.

Big Hugs out!

Adi "Chico" Freeman - 6 String Plank Spanker

Chico was given his first guitar aged 16 by Cookie! In no time at all he knew all the famous riffs.